Miami Hurricanes

Sean Taylor leads the list of five to be added to UM Ring of Honor

(Photo Credit Gary Rothstein/Icon SMI)


The late Sean Taylor is amongst five former Miami Hurricane greats who will be added to the Ring of Honor. The ceremony will take place on Thursday October 12th as Miami will get set to play Georgia Tech at Hard Rock Stadium.

The other players joining Taylor on the Ring of Honor are WR Michael Irvin, LB Ray Lewis, DT Warren Sapp and S Ed Reed. 

The Miami Herald has more details on who else in on the Ring of Honor:

After their induction, UM’s Ring of Honor will have 23 former Canes. The newest legends will join, per UM, the Class of 1997 inductees Jim Dooley, Ted Hendricks, Georgia Mira and Vinny Testaverde; Class of 1999 inductees Ottis Anderson, Don Bosseler, Bernie Kosar and Burgess Owens; Class of 2008 inductees Edgerrin James, Jim Kelly, Cortez Kennedy, Jim Otto and Gino Torretta; Class of 2009 inductees Bennie Blades, Eddie Dunn and Steve Walsh; and Class of 2014 inductees Jerome Brown and Russell Maryland.

To think that Irvin, Lewis and Sapp weren’t already in the Ring of Honor already is kind of strange, at least from a timing stand point. All five players of course are already members of the UM Hall of Fame, with Irvin being in the Pro Football HOF as well.

Taylor had played in only four seasons with the Washington Redskins before he was died on November 27, 2007 after a botched robbery attempt left him with a shot gun wound that severed his femoral artery. The following year he was inducted into the Washington Redskins Ring of Fame.

Taylor was considered a transcendental player coming out of Miami with almost endless potential. Some experts believed he could have been as impactful in changing the game as Lawrence Taylor did in the 80s. This is something we were never able to see materialize.

As for the ceremony on October 12th. That’s the night they will be featuring their alternative black Adidas uniforms. Take a look at the uniforms:

To Top