Connect with us


First timers Reed, Gonzalez and Bailey make “Hall”- Lynch, Boselli denied again

Florida Football Insiders



It’s an all-too-familiar scenario involving possible Hall of Fame induction for both former Buccaneers safety John Lynch and former Jaguars offensive tackle Tony Boselli. Again they made it as finalists, and again, they were denied in part by a slew of first-time eligible players going in on Saturday night.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame made the announcement early Saturday evening of its upcoming 2019 class that will include three first time players on the ballot out of the six that were chosen:

In taking first-year safety Ed Reed who was arguably the top safety of the 2000s mostly with the Ravens, its the second year in a row, where Lynch has been denied as a finalist by a first-time safety on the ballot. In 2018 it was former Eagles and Broncos star Brian Dawkins.

Also, Boselli was likewise bypassed for a fellow offensive lineman, but it was not a first-timer. Instead, it was veteran Kevin Mawae of the Jets and Titans, who was able to receive at least 75% of the vote Saturday afternoon.

It’s still believed that there is strong sentiment for Lynch and Boselli, and the fact that they keep making the final 15 indicates that. And, both may very well end up getting in, in subsequent years. However, the fact that Lynch has been there six years in a row and not voted in, has to make he and many others begin to wonder whether it’s going to be an extended wait?

That’s not uncommon, and the extreme example was last year, as former Packers great offensive lineman of the 1960s Jerry Kramer was finally inducted after a 40+ year wait of eligibility.

Reed, a former All American with the Hurricanes, was also inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame earlier this year.

Along with Reed, former Broncos lock down All Pro defensive back Champ Bailey and arguably the best pass-catching tight end in NFL history, Tony Gonzalez of the Chiefs and Falcons, also got in their initial appearance in front of the vooters.

The selectors also put in former Patriots safety Ty Law, veteran Jimmy Robinson, former Broncos owner Pat Bowlen and former Dallas Cowboys personnel guru Gil Brandt.

The Hall of Fame induction will take place later this summer in Canton Ohio

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Advertisement Big Savings for Big Fans at