Connect with us


Prominent state stars on 2020 College Football Hall of Fame ballot

Florida Football Insiders



Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The 2020 nomination list for the College Football Hall of Fame came out on Monday and it’s once again littered with prominent names from the state of Florida’s historic past.

The National Football Foundation made public the 76 finalists that will be voted on and inducted next year:

Probably the biggest name still on the ballot and not yet in the hall from our state is former Miami All-American linebacker Ray Lewis. Lewis (above) was passed over a year ago after making the final ballot and still awaits college football’s ultimate recognition. The former Lakeland star and longtime NFL hero with the Baltimore Ravens went into the Pro Football Hall of Fame two years ago.

Several other interesting names are either back as finalists or there for the first time. They include the late Jerome Brown All American defensive line star from the 1980s Miami Hurricanes. And, former Oklahoma National Championship winning quarterback Josh Heupel, who is now the head coach of the UCF Knights. Also on the list, is former Florida Gators National Championship defensive lineman Kevin Carter and fellow former Gator defensive lineman Brad Culpepper, who was an All American in 1991.

The NFF’s criteria for the College Hall is provided every year:

  • First and foremost, a player must have received First-Team All-America recognition by a selector organization that is recognized by the NCAA and utilized to comprise their consensus All-America teams.
  • A player becomes eligible for consideration by the Foundation’s Honors Courts 10 full seasons after his final year of intercollegiate football played.
  • While each nominee’s football achievements in college are of prime consideration, his post-football record as a citizen is also weighed. He must have proven himself worthy as a citizen, carrying the ideals of football forward into his relations with his community and his fellow man, with love of his country. Consideration may also be given for academic honors and whether the candidate earned a college degree.
  • Players must have played their last year of intercollegiate football within the last 50 years.* For example, to be eligible for the 2020 ballot, the player must have played his last year in 1970 or thereafter. In addition, players who are playing professionally and coaches who are coaching on the professional level are not eligible until after they retire.
  • A coach becomes eligible three full seasons after retirement or immediately following retirement provided he is at least 70 years of age. Active coaches become eligible at 75 years of age. He must have been a head football coach for a minimum of 10 years and coached at least 100 games with a .600 winning percentage.

Final ballots must be submitted by June 21st and the National Football Foundation will announce it’s 2020 class of players and coaches in January at the College Football Playoff championship weekend in New Orleans.

A year ago, former Florida State All American star defensive back, Terrell Buckley and former two time Hurricanes National championship-winning coach, Dennis Erickson, were part of the 2019 class.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Advertisement Big Savings for Big Fans at