Bucs to add late owner Malcolm Glazer and Jon Gruden to Ring of Honor

Photo by Mark LoMoglio/Icon Sportswire


TAMPA – The owner who helped turn the Buccaneers franchise around and the coach who won them their first and so far only Super Bowl will be inducted in the Buccaneers Ring of Honor this year.

Late owner Malcolm Glazer and former coach Jon Gruden will become the 10th and 11th members of the Ring of Honor in separate ceremonies at Raymond James Stadium this season.

Glazer will be honored during the Bucs nationally televised game against the Patriots on Oct. 5 while Gruden will be inducted at halftime of the Bucs Dec. 18 game against the Falcons.

Glazer, who bought the team following the death of its original Hugh Culverhouse for $192 million in 1995, died at the age of 85 on May 28, 2014 but lived to see his team win a Super Bowl thanks to Gruden.

Gruden replaced Tony Dungy, who still stands as the winningest coach in franchise history, in 2001 and led the Bucs to a 12-4 record in 2002 and a win over his former team, the Raiders in Super Bowl XXXVII.

Glazer will be the first non-player or coach to be enshrined in the Bucs Ring of Honor, which was established by the Glazer family in 2009, while Gruden will become the second Bucs coach to be so honored.

Gruden joins the Bucs first coach, John McKay, who became the second person inducted into the Ring of Honor, a year after former defensive end Lee Roy Selmon became the first player enshrined. Gruden is shown above, five years ago at the tenth anniversary celebration of the Buccaneers Super Bowl win.

“As we approach the 15th anniversary of our Super Bowl victory, it seemed a fitting time to acknowledge our father and Jon Gruden for the immense impact they had on our fans and the entire Tampa Bay community,” Bucs  Co-Chairman Ed Glazer said.

“Our father was passionate about transforming the Buccaneers into a model NFL franchise. His deep commitment to the Tampa Bay area is at the core of our organizational identity to this day.”

In addition to Selmon and McKay, Glazer and Gruden will join tight end Jimmie Giles, left tackle Paul Gruber, Hall of Fame defensive tackle Warren Sapp, Hall of Fame linebacker Derrick Brooks, fullback Mike Alstott, quarterback Doug Williams and safety John Lynch as members of the team’s Ring of Honor.

To Top